Veterans Affairs Canada's website is undergoing maintenance. If you are experiencing any issues, please contact us. We apologize for the inconvenience this may cause.

Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation

Canadians from every walk of life provide outstanding volunteer service to Veterans, their communities and their country. In April 2001, the Governor General authorized the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation to formally recognize these Canadians’ contributions.

The Governor General Warrant states the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation be "...awarded to individuals who have performed commendable service to the Veteran community and/or individuals who represent commendable role models for their fellow Veterans."

The Commendation is awarded annually to deserving recipients.

Insignia and Wear

The Commendation consists of a certificate, a lapel pin for civilian wear and a bar for wear with decorations. The design is a gold maple leaf resting on a red poppy—a flower long associated with the sacrifices of war—and the Royal Crown on the top of the pin.

A recipient may wear the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation bar on their blazer, formal wear, etc., on occasions appropriate for wearing medals. A recipient should wear the bar below their official decorations.

A recipient may wear the Commendation lapel pin on civilian dress at any time.


Type of service to Veterans

We recognize the diverse scope and range of work performed in contribution to the care and well-being of Veterans, or to the remembrance of the contributions, sacrifices and achievements of Veterans.


Eligible recipients must be:

  • an individual, not a group or couple, of any age;
  • a volunteer who made significant, sustained and unpaid contributions to their Veteran community; and
  • a Canadian citizen or permanent Canadian resident when nominated.

Posthumous award

The Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation recognizes the efforts of living individuals. In the unfortunate circumstance a nominee is approved to receive this award, but passes away before the award has been presented, they may receive the award posthumously.


Individuals may only receive the Minister’s Commendation once.

You may nominate an individual for the Commendation once in a given year. If a nomination is not successful, you may resubmit it for consideration in a subsequent year.


Last Name First Name Year Location
Bauder Louise 2024 Gibbons, Alberta
Bisset Malcolm George 2024 Alliance, Alberta
Bonneau Jean-Guy 2024 Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
Boucher Yves 2024 Trois-Rivières, Quebec
Daigle Martin 2024 Val-Bélair, Quebec
Dermody Ryan 2024 Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Deslage Terrance 2024 Sainte-Catherine, Quebec
Duffy Michael William 2024 Lethbridge, Alberta
Eckstadt John Terrence Bruce 2024 Calgary, Alberta
Gault Alexander Hamilton 2024 Calgary, Alberta
Gervais John 2024 Nepean, Ontario
Lussier Linteau Isabelle 2024 Nicolet, Quebec
Marmen Éric 2024 Saint-Apollinaire, Quebec
Miller Glenn 2024 Lethbridge, Alberta
Nadeau Steve 2024 East Angus, Quebec
Nicolay Larry John William 2024 Calgary, Alberta
Nixon Kenneth 2024 Calgary, Alberta
Ostiguy Claude 2024 Contrecoeur, Quebec
Pearson Barry 2024 Calgary, Alberta
Pitre Diane 2024 Campbellton, New Brunswick
Powder Floyd 2024 Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Remple Robert Allen 2024 Bellingham, International
Ryan Victoria Nancy (Vicki) 2024 Ottawa, Ontario
Scott John 2024 Prince George, British Columbia
Siew Andrea Louise 2024 Ottawa, Ontario